Reviews of Android Apps for Everyday Money Tasks

Money App ReviewsOver the coming couple of months, I plan to review some of the most popular and a few unknown mobile apps for Android devices that promise to make our everyday financial lives easier and our financial futures more secure. These will be budgeting and expense tracking tools that help us better control our “everyday money.” If they have extra tools, that will be fine. Ideally, they will be available for Android devices (including those that are still using the Android Market and not just Google Play). Oh, and they MUST be free apps.

If you would like to add your own experiences, please let me know using the form below. I’ll be happy to incorporate them into my own reviews.

SmartphoneHere’s my proposed list of apps to review:

  1. Mint
  2. Mvelopes
  3. SavedPlus
  4. PersonalCapital
  5. Toshl
  6. Manilla – Bills & Reminders
  7. Money Wise (by S Finance)
  8. Check
  9. SimpleBudget (Envelope Budget)

Of course, at the end of these reviews, I may still stick with my old faithful… spreadsheet. While there are some great apps out there, I still haven’t had a lot of luck finding one that gives me the day-by-day mile-high view and on-the-ground view that my own household spreadsheet does. Using my spreadsheet (whether Excel or Google Docs), on any given day for the next year, I can forecast how much money I will have in our checking, savings and retirement accounts (barring truly epic emergency events).

Since the concept was introduced and implemented several years ago, I’ve loved the idea behind apps and sites like Mint, but they often don’t connect well (or at all) with smaller credit unions, of which I’m a fan. Hopefully, I’ll find that things have changed recently, but if you’ve had problems getting your bank or credit union to communicate with your mobile budgeting/expense tracker app, please let me know.

Author of Everyday Money for Everyday People, Todd ChristensenTodd Christensen
Everyday Money for Everyday People
www.facebook.com/oureverydaymoney
http://pinterest.com/everydaymoney
https://twitter.com/EverydayMoney4U
www.DebtReductionServices.org

Debt Reduction Services Inc

One thought on “Reviews of Android Apps for Everyday Money Tasks

  1. Pingback: Check (Android App Review) | Everyday Money for Everyday People

We'd love to hear your thoughts

